Things We Should Know about Things

I have spent a loooot of time this past year and a half perusing the Internet in search of answers to my big questions: how can I do [insert activity] in an ethical way, and with minimal environmental consequences? Is it possible to get [shoes, bikini, avocado]  in an ethical way, and with minimal environmental consequences? and where? how??

Guess what. It took up so much time. It wasn’t fun. It wasn’t easy. And mostly, it just messed up with my head because these questions never end. When you start looking at how things are made and what impact they have, you fall into a (necessary, I believe) black hole. Let’s say you decided to stop buying ready-to-wear clothing, and to learn to sew to make your own clothes. Great! But how do you know the fabric you’ll buy will meet your standards? You probably don’t, because it’s really hard to get this kind of information on fabric. What do you do with all the leftover fabric that will end up as waste? What if what you made, at least in the first few months, is crap, and will never get worn? Isn’t that wasteful?

Right now, I am in that exact situation. I need new shoes, but I don’t want to buy any kind of shoes. I want them to look good, to be good quality shoes, to be comfortable, and affordable. I also want them to be made by a brand that at least shares my values. Cool. And also not cool: I have researched that a lot, and really can’t find anything that checks all the boxes, so I am going to have to make a choice between all these criteria (or go bare foot). And I hate to say this, but I am broke, so I am pretty sure I won’t be able to invest the money I want to in them.

But back to my tracks: I decided to gather and condensate the information picked up during these searches, and try to post it regularly. Ideally, I’d like to create a hub I, and of course other people, could refer to when they need to have an overall idea of complex issues, and to make educated choices about something specific. Above all, I see it as a way to show that THERE ARE  alternatives, solutions, outside-the-box kinda thoughts that can change the way we consume or we act. And I truly believe there are, and that it should be known.

So yeah, I’ll try real hard to keep to this project (hear: unlike my booklist thing) because I have been thinking about it a lot and I think it’s a good one. If you have any suggestions, I’d love to hear them!

Things We Should Know about Things

Leave a Reply

