Out of Sight, Out of Mind

One thing that constantly baffles me is the capacity that we, human beings, have to not comprehend the scope and consequences of our actions. We know these consequences, we understand them to some extent, and yet we continue to act as if nothing was happening.

I should know, I have been doing this for so long.

One of the reasons why, I think, our world makes it easy for us to not have to face the consequences of our behaviour, is that everything happens so far away, in hidden places we have little idea about. It’s made so easy for us not to see, and therefore, not to care.

Out of sight, out of mind.

I firmly believe the only way to fight this natural tendency to ignorance is to get educated. And that’s what I have been trying to do more. Let me give you a heads-up: it’s overwhelming. There is sooo much information out there, and yet it’s hard to know what to take seriously and when to stop looking for answers. And the worst part comes when one tries to find solutions and alternatives to a behaviour one is trying to change – there are so many different aspects to take into account, because the world is complex.

It does not happen overnight. It can feel overwhelming. It is pretty scary and often disheartening. And yet, it’s necessary.

One thing I have noticed though, is that beginning to question things (and by questioning things, I mean everything) has led me to an increased confidence in one belief: it’s probably impossible to behave perfectly, yet it’s well worth a try, and it did change my mindset on many many issues.

Take fashion, for instance. I have never been that into fashion, but as most people in the Western world at least, I like clothes. 2 years ago, I would have had a very hard time imagining never buying any new clothes. Today, I wonder why I was spending so much money on new cheap garments, and get desperate when I need a new pair of shoes – unfortunately, used shoes in good condition for women are not that common, especially for women with modern feet (i.e, big!).

So yes, I can say that getting educated has changed my relationship to the world. That’s why I want to keep learning, and maybe share here what I find. Because what’s the point of keeping it to myself?

Out of Sight, Out of Mind

Leave a Reply

