Yay! A book list!

I have recently realized that if I wanted to be serious about exploring the issues around sustainability, climate change and ethical and social entrepreneurship, maybe I needed to start reading books about it.

Hmm. The issue is, I am terrible at reading non-fiction books, so I figured I’d make a list of books I want to read here, with deadlines, and try and hold myself accountable.

Here is a list I put together searching all around the Internet for recommandations (of course, if you have other ideas, let me know!).

On climate change:

  • This Changes Everything, Naomi Klein (yep, I still haven’t read it, partly out of laziness, partly out of denial – the introduction was really depressing)
  • The Conflict Shoreline, text by Eyal Weizman and photographs by Fazal Sheikh
  • La Question climatique – Genèse et dépolitisation d’un problème public, Jean-Baptiste Comby
  • Greenhouse Gangsters vs. Climate Justice by CorpWatch
  • Politics of Climate Justice, Patrick Bond
  • Toward Climate Justice, Brian Tokar
  • Contours of Climate Justice, Ulrich Brand and others

On alternative consumption models:

  • What’s Mine Is Yours: The Rise of Collaborative Consumption, Rachel Botsman and Roo Rogers (2010)
  • The Upcycle: Beyond Sustainability — Designing for Abundance, William McDonough and Michael Braungart
  • Your Water Footprint: The Shocking Facts about How Much Water We Use to Make Everyday Products, Stephen Leahy. 2014
  • Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We make Things, William McDonough and Michael Braungart (2002)

On business and sustainability:

  • The Truth About Green Business, Gil Friend (2009)
  • Strategy for Sustainability: A Business Manifesto, Adam Werbach (2009)
  • The Responsibility Revolution: How the Next Generation of Businesses Will Win, Jeffrey Hollender and Bill Breen (2010)
  • Sustainable Excellence: The Future of Business in a Fast-Changing World, Aron Cramer and Zachary Karabell (2010):
  • Business Lessons From a Radical Industrialist, Ray C. Anderson (2009)
  • The HIP Investor: Make Bigger Profits by Building a Better World, Paul Herman (2010)

So… (try to picture me saying it with a British accent) I am going to try to read one book every 2 weeks. I’ll start with the first one of the first category, then the first one of the second category, etc. I’ll also try to write down notes about each book here so I can remember all the great ideas I hope they are going to spark in me.

 

Yay! A book list!

Leave a Reply

