Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

I guess I am still not too sure about this blogging thing. Not sure if it’s right for me, or if I can pull it off. But who cares, right? I like having a kind of journal of the changes I decided to make in my life. Documenting them makes them easier, and makes me accountable for them, even if I am the only one following my progress.

Speaking of progress, two things:

1) my “not buying new clothing” adventure is still on. I guess I slipped a few times (not sure it’s the right word, I’ll get back to this soon), but overall it is a much easier process that I ever thought possible. I actually don’t feel the need to shop in regular stores anymore (except maybe for lingerie, but I can control myself), and I have been much better at thrifting than I expected given my hate for crowded, untidy stores and total lack of experience in that field.

2) I had no idea when I started this blog that its name would be so spot-on. This little experiment of mine was indeed just a start, and among other things, opened my eyes to many other areas of my life that needed improvement, if I wanted to one day live according my beliefs and my values. I have recently decided to become a vegetarian, and to seriously curb my waste. I just recently heard about zero waste lifestyles, and they really appeal to me – this blog, for instance, is incredibly helpful. More on that later.

Anyways. No expectations here, I am just going to try to keep track, somehow, of these changes. I guess I am a bit shy when it comes to sharing my new resolutions with the people around me, because I am afraid I’ll come accross as a righteous crazy person, basically: I don’t want them to feel like I am judging them or their choices, and I am also aware that for most people, not buying a single piece of new clothing, refusing to eat meat, and totally changing your consumer habits so they don’t involve trash can appear extreme, and I am not ready yet to argue with that. Right now, I just want to focus on those changes I am making.

*Of course, the title of this post is a reference to David Bowie.

Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

Leave a Reply

